Sandpebbles by Patricia Hickman – Reader Response

Patricia Hickman is an award-winning novelist and public speaker. She is known for writing her novels, one of them being Sandpebbles. This is my first time to read one of her book and I am already into her writing.   Her way of introducing the characters in the novel is really captivating and it causes me to understand clearly. The content of the book is full of deep thoughts along with a little bit of humor, which brightens up the text. 

Hickman writes in a way that is engaging and it causes me to get curious as to what might happen next. I really like how the story seems a little evocating and how she uses sassy and humor in her writing. Hickman also writes in a poetic way that will have you think about what you have read. Her writing will draw your attention in deep thoughts and will also cause you to see the heart of the characters. On page 12 March Norville remembers her dead husband, Joe Longfellow by saying, “It was no way for Joe to leave the world, in my opinion. I wanted significance in my marriage-banners I could wave around and say, “Joe and me, we made it.” But he let all hope on the bottom of the sea with fish and the sand. Sand pebbles make for weak touchstones, shifting, hiding, and changing places until the world forgets you once made footprints.” She is saying that her husband has left his footprints behind as a legacy of himself. Although Hickman uses a limited amount of figurative language, her writing draws me into reading more and more. 

Sandpebbles is one of the book that causes the society to think about their love for each other and how much they will need each other. It causes me to think about others around me and my need for them too. I think Hickman is reminding us to understand the importance of grief and the love we need for on another. Many people go down this same journey of experiencing grief in their lives. As March’s father James reminds her daughter by saying, “Grief makes you act like someone you’re not sometimes” (pg. 29). Again, Hickman writes in a way that will help you understand the “need of one another.”

This entry was posted in Reviews & Responses and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

